NXKnowledge

Content Migration Manager > User's Guide (CMM 1899 Series, Jan 2020) > Part II: General migration process > 5. Migration Overview

Data management with Teamcenter

Because CMM and NXM run in the My Teamcenter environment, you need to know some key My Teamcenter concepts and functionality. Starting Teamcenter Perform the following steps to launch the migration application: You can run only one interactive migration session per workstation. 1. Start the Teamcenter session. Most users will use a Start menu or a desktop icon. Follow specific instructions from your administrator for starting Teamcenter at your site. 2. Log in to My Teamcenter.

  • User ID Enter your login name.
  • Password Enter your password.
  • Group Enter the name of the group that you want to work in for this session. The CMM group is recommended. (See Best Practices.) If you do not enter a group name, you are logged in under your default group.
  • Database Select the Teamcenter database in which to access and store your data.

Click Login. In the Getting Started window, in the navigation pane, choose My Teamcenter from the list of installed applications. The system displays the Teamcenter window with the My Teamcenter application active. The migration application is present as shown by the CMM or NXMigration menu in the My Teamcenter main menu bar. Migration Overview

Migration Overview My Teamcenter interface The user interface for Teamcenter contains the main areas shown below. 1. Menu bar 2. Toolbar 3. Tabs 4. Object area 5. Properties table area 6. Applications listed in the navigation pane. When you start Teamcenter, first log in to an application such as My Teamcenter. The applications listed in the navigation pane depend on which applications are installed at your site. Depending on your version of Teamcenter, the Teamcenter application is named My Navigator or My Teamcenter. This document describes the newest versions of Teamcenter, which use the name My Teamcenter. Folders Data is organized in folders in the object area. The Home folder contains other folders. The Newstuff folder by default contains new items you create. You can create as many folders as you want to organize the models you are working on. Folders can be used as personal storage areas. They can also be shared between users. These folders are not related to directories or folders in the operating system. They are more analogous to “shortcuts” on your computer desktop that store virtual pointers to the real data. Migration Overview

Migration Overview Items, item revisions, and datasets Expand folders to see the items in them. items are represented by icons similar to these. Item Each unique part, assembly, or drawing is tracked as an item. The item is a container for each of its item revisions. Item revision Item revisions contain the datasets that are the application data files that document the item revision such as CAD data, text documents, or other application data. You can use the Save As command in NX to either create a new item or a new item revision. Dataset Datasets are represented by different icons, depending on the file type. Version numbers are associated with dataset objects. Each time a dataset is checked out of My Teamcenter and saved, the version number is increased by one. If the checkout is canceled, the dataset reverts to the previous version. The number of dataset versions retained per dataset in the Teamcenter database is controlled by the AE_dataset_default_keep_limit preference. When the version limit is exceeded, the earliest version of the dataset is purged from the database to make room for the latest version. For more information, see System Administration online help in the Teamcenter Online Help Collection. Information about selected items is presented in the properties table area. Use Search to find items. Use the Cut, Copy, or Paste commands to move an object from the search pane or from one folder to another. Teamcenter or your original CAD system may allow characters in names of items or datasets that are not supported in NX. Avoid the use of special characters such as Double Quote (“), Asterisk (*), Slash (/), Backslash (), Colon (:) (except as used as a drive specifier on Windows), Less Than (<), Greater Than (>), Back Tic (`), Degrees (°), and Vertical Bar (|). Migration Overview

Migration Overview Teamcenter workflow Through a product lifecycle, items will progress through different states defined by your process. At a minimum, most sites will define a process where there are different states for items being designed and released items. Many users need to access released data, but only database administrators should be given permission to modify the data. Migrating data from one CAD system to another is also a workflow process. Only one CAD system can maintain ownership for each item. Migration is a process where this ownership is transferred from one system to the other. Access rights and ownership Teamcenter controls access to items and item revision for the users who should have read and write access at each state in a process. This access is primarily controlled using access control lists (ACL). Access control lists are defined in the Access Manager application. Access control lists are defined by a status applied to the item, the item being assigned to a project, or other conditions. The access control lists specifies which user account, roles, or groups or users can access the data when the given condition exists. There are two primary ways to use access control to define a migration process. The comprehensive method is to apply a status to the item revision of items to be migrated. The access control lists are defined so that the status will provide access only to users who will perform the migration. For example, a group of users named “CMM” could be defined. When items are identified for migration, they could be assigned a status such as “CMM_Initial.” An ACL would be defined to give only the CMM group of users write access to items with this status. A second method to define a migration process is to assign data to be migrated to a specific project. The group of users trained to perform migration are members of this project. This will limit access to the members of the migration project. This is a simpler method, and is recommended for sites organized by work groups. Migration Overview

Migration Overview

Source: CMM 1921 download (Support Center PL20201112075217794, CMM1921.7z), NXMigration/Documentation/cmm_1921.pdf, page 41 · retrieved 2026-10-02